TJ Williamson – Leg Day Log

Standard

Leg Day for Back Pain

So today I tried out a new leg and lower back workout I designed, putting a strong focus on strengthening my lumbar spine and pelvic region. I suffer from lower back pain from time to time, and I’ve discovered that strengthening my weak points (lower back) and stretching where I’m constantly tight (hip flexors) helps to correct my cocked posture and relieve the aching pains of a forward-tilted pelvic cage. With that being said, the entire time I was working out, I was repeatedly telling myself to keep my core tight and to keep my back as flat as a board.
Warm up:
3-minute mile on bike. Moderate resistance.
Trap Bar Deadlift, SuperSet 10 swiss ball sit ups:
335 lbs 3 x 5
385 lbs 3 x 3
405 lbs 3 x 1
Back Squat, SuperSet standing hip abductions – 10 each leg:
225 lbs 3 x 8
Front Squat:
135 lbs 3 x 8
High-Rep Circuit: (No more than 20-30 seconds of rest while changing stations)
225 lbs Leg Press x 20
Hip abductor machine x 20
Hip adductor machine x 20
95 lbs Good Mornings x 20
30-60 second water break, repeat for 2 more rounds
By the time I reached the end, I was out of breath, drenched in sweat, and my quads and lower back were on fire. My hip flexors had also tightened up quite a bit so the last thing I did before walking out the door was stretch them out for a good 10-second hold on each side, twice. Tomorrow when I warm up for
my upper body workout, I’ll try to start off by hitting the cable row machine for a 2-minute 500 meters. That should help get some nutrient-rich blood pumping back into my legs and relieve some of the soreness while simultaneously prepping my upper body for the workload it’s about to receive.

– TJ

Leave a comment